In Search of a Great Mani / Pedi in Paris

Yesterday I went on a hunt for a decent mani / pedi spot. Soon after we arrived in Paris, I treated myself to a birthday mani /pedi, but left dissatisfied after shelling out 45 euros. The place was decent enough, but for that quality and type of business ambiance many places in New York or Boston would probably only charge $30 -$35 plus I would leave knowing that the implements used were at least sterilized.

The first place I approached h locked, but I could see an employee and a customer. The employee was on the phone and slowly approached to unlock the store. When I let her know that I wanted a manicure and a pedicure, she repeated it with questioning criticism, “manucure et pedicure”. As if how dare I bring her business. She said she didn’t have any openings until much later in the day. I thanked her, declined her offer, and traveled on.

Next, I came upon a more upscale salon with the business doors unlocked and ready for potential customers. With no customers in sight, two ladies from the back emerged excitedly greeting me. When I asked in French if they spoke English, they both replied “only a leetle. Good enough I thought. How much do you really need to know to shake your head when they take out the nail clippers, smile when you’re pleased with the filing job they did, and point to the nail polish color you want for your hands and feet.

We initially struggled to figure out what day and time they could make an appointment for but finally agreed that I would return in 45 minutes, they took down my info, I then picked out the type of manicure and pedicure I wanted (yes guys some places have options) appointment set. Or so I thought, as I was getting ready to say my see you later, one of them asked, “do you want nail polish?” When I said yes she informed me that in addition to the already ridiculous prices of 23 euros for the mani and 39 euros for the pedi, they would charge an additional 9 euros per hand and feet for nail polish. You don’t need to be a math whiz to figure out that equals crazy or 80 euros for those who didn’t do the math. That is almost $90. Unless they are going to create magic, take away all of my pains current and future and paint my finger nails and toe nails with gold, I’m not paying. Horrified, I said, “oh no, that’s too much, no thank you” and exited extremely grateful for an unlocked front door.

I then remembered passing a small salon about a week ago in the area but wasn’t sure on which cross street it was located on. The first street I went down proved to be the wrong street, but I lucked out the on the second go-around. With a quick glance inside the small, empty yet pristine salon and another quick peek at the price list on the door, I knew I found my place. Upon entering I asked for a mani /pedi, but let her know right away that I didn’t speak any French. Luckily, her English was quite good. As she drew the footbath and I prepared to settle in, I heard the ding of the sterilization machine and knew I was in the right place. I emerged an hour and a half later 46 euros poorer, but with a smile on my face and happy with the service and quality. Now I just need some sunnier and warmer weather to showcase them my feet.

Leave a comment