Final Day in Paris

We got our last workout in this morning at the incredibly sweaty odor infused gym we belonged to. I really cannot understand how the smell just stays put. I would feel the air blasting from time to time, but apparently it didn’t circulate the bad air out and any new air in. Every time I would go I thought I was stuck in the vortex of the Seinfeld episode where Jerry can’t get the funky smell out of his car. Anything that came in contact with the car was doomed and needed to be washed with tomato juice (Elaine’s hair) or just tossed (Jerry’s jacket). Still being congested from my cold, this is one of the few times I am thankful for being stuffed up and not able to smell properly.

Looking back on other experiences, we endured everything from countless days indoors, thanks rain, to cold days….it’s still only in the high 50’s on June 5th, to standing in line for everything from getting into museums, waiting for the ladies room, or buying tickets for the metro, sometimes in the rain, other times in the cold, many times in both.

I don’t know if you’ve been tuning into any European news but the Louvre and d’Orsay continue to be closed (closed on Friday) due to rising water levels of the Seine river. During this closure, artwork stored in the basements of these two museums are being moved to higher floors due to fears of flooding. I guess no third visit for moi. Musée de l’Orangerie, just a little further north but still on the Seine, remains open, I guess no valuable art in the basement there. The Monets will be safe. Here are some pictures of the Seine during more normal water levels.

Looking at the forecast for the rest of the day, I also can’t deliver a clear sunset as I had intended since it’s cloudy…..shocker. Personally, I think it is starting to affect my mood.

So we’ll enjoy one last baguette – which can I say has been one of the finer points of our stay in Paris? After eating cellophane wrapped rolls in Spain more times than I care to remember, the crusty baguettes and meat and cheese plates we created at home during those rainy days were great pick me ups. We hope to have one last dinner tonight before we head out tomorrow for Italy.

In the morning, we’ll begin our drive from Paris to Borgo San Lorenzo, a town about 30 kilometers north of Florence. We’ll be making the drive over a two-day period and hope to be able to get gas along the way. Oh yeah, forgot to mention there are a number of strikes and protests also happening in Paris and throughout Europe from Air France pilots to train workers to refinery workers. Many are now worried about Euro 2016 which is to commence on this coming Friday and whether it will go on without a hitch. I guess we’ll have to see, but not from Paris.

Here’s a great article from The Guardian that sums up the mayhem that is currently going on in France. http://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/jun/04/france-unhappy-floods-strikes-push-towards-crisis-euro-2016

Leave a comment